A Child’s First Puzzle: Circle Tangram

Sharing another great buy that i bought for KD long ago! I think it’s still available at the Popular Bookstore now. I bought it at SGD9.90 before my Popular Card Member discount. :)

On the surface, this Circle Tangram looks like a book, however it’s actually a puzzle set!

image

image

It comes with 7 blocks in different colors and shape and with them, the player can put together to create endless possibilities of things that he can imagine – a cat, a tortoise, a fish and many more!

image

There are more than 30 ready templates with the outer outlines, for a child to fill in the shapes to form the pictures. Theses templates are also rated with their difficulties level so in the beginning, you can start off with easy puzzles until you get the hang of it. Of cos there is also an “answer sheet” which you can refer to if you couldn’t manage to fill in puzzle in.

image

So it’s always the case, when i purchased this, KD just turned two years old and he wasn’t interested as well as couldn’t grasp the concept of the puzzle yet. I was also a FTWM and with little time i have in evenings or weekends, I some times used it to teach him about the different colors and shapes, as well as showed him how we can put them together to form different images. He wasn’t keen, so it’s was always a very fast activity basically of me “demonstrating”, or him taking it out just to play with the wooden blocks.

During the past 4 months of me being an At Home Mom, i did try to do this activity with him but I couldn’t last more than 5 minutes each time.. KD is a boy that i need to do everything very fast and multiple activities in one session just to engage him and make him seat down for that 15 to 20 mins a day!

Last week, he took it out on his own again, but this time round, i am amazed because i didn’t need to ask him to do anything! I was just sitting opposite him and observing him (including busy snapping pictures lah!). He opened up the puzzle, took out all the blocks and placed them aside, flipped to a page he likes and started talking to himself like “What’s this? Let’s see… This one goes to here, this one goes here” etc etc.. AND he actually completed 3 puzzles on his own! I took a peep, the puzzles he selected were with difficulty level 1, 3 and 5!! WOAH!

image

image

image

I realised that it’s always easier to teach and play with a child when he is interested. Usually he has such short attention span so i always thought i am struggling with engaging him. >.< I always wondered if being a SAHM is suitable for me or he will do better off in childcare because maybe the teachers can engaged him better? The above random display of my son once again made me feel that my past four months of being a SAHM, all those frustrations when it comes to having a schedule with him and engaging him in activities with me… PAID OFF. :) :) :)

I strongly believe now that depending on your child’s character, some children like mine, will always appear to be uninterested, not keen and inpatient.. What’s important is for parents NOT TO GIVE UP and continue to have patience. I think this is something only the child’s real parents can give whole-heartedly. Not the grandparents or teachers whom are paid to do the job.. If you can’t have patience for your own child, who else will have? I feel so happy i can dance on my toes (opps i can’t! Too heavy with my almost 9 months tummy now..)

Lastly, of cos a smile broke on my face when he also kept the puzzles back properly after he is done with it. :) My Good Boy!

image

Leave a Reply

